Greystone secrets the strangers. Book Review

The Strangers: Greystone Secrets, Book 1 Book Review

greystone secrets the strangers

But how can they bring their mom home when they're not sure where home is anymore? Lastly, this book ends on a cliffhanger This is the story of three siblings who are separated from their mother after she mysteriously vanishes and they are left to hunt for answers. Their mother leaves for an unexpected trip, they are left with a woman who they have never met before, and her daughter that seems to know more about what's going on than they do. Before Chess, Emma, and Finn can question their mom about it, she takes off on a mysterious work trip. The bulk of this book takes place in the Other world, and that helped the plot tremendously. Greystone is in danger, and the kids must learn to embrace their identities--flaws and all--to save her. In the second book in the series, Emma, Finn, and Chess are living with Natalie and her dad. If I'm judging this purely as an entertaining genre mystery for kids, this is great.

Next

Book Review

greystone secrets the strangers

The kidnapping alone could have made a compelling mystery, but Haddix throws in secret rooms, alternate realities, and a cliff-hanger ending to raise the stakes and delight fans new and old. This is one of those books where there is an unusual concept to grasp, but I think it was explained and shown just about as well as it could be. Many readers in the target audience of grades 5-8 may find themselves a bit confused about who is who and which world some belong in. While The Strangers is clearly not the same book, it reminded me of when I was in 5th grade watching the book through a film projector not a movie, but scenes with narration. Before reading this book, I read one review that said it was best to go into this story blind. Maybe this was due to the audiobook narrator's performance.

Next

The Strangers (Greystone Secrets, #1) by Margaret Peterson Haddix

greystone secrets the strangers

They decide it is not safe to use it in their house so they sneak off to Natalie's house to try to go back through that way. The brothers and sister duo were amazing in trying to find their mom and what skill each of them had. This first installment ends expectedly with a cliffhanger that is sure to leave readers wanting more. Before her first book was published, she worked as a newspaper copy editor in Fort Wayne, Indiana; a newspaper reporter in Indianapolis; and a community college instructor and freelance writer in Margaret Peterson Haddix grew up on a farm near Washington Court House, Ohio. The clever premise that sets the stage for this series continued to evolve in this book, and the story becomes more complex and more satisfying.

Next

The Deceivers (Greystone Secrets, #2) by Margaret Peterson Haddix

greystone secrets the strangers

Chess has always been the protector over his younger siblings, Emma loves math, and Finn does what Finn does best--acting silly and being adored. This book was very much about what we are capable of doing when we all work together, and that every family has secrets muahahaha! If you like this sort of thing, I also write a weekly newsletter about books. Classic Haddix, which is to say: it's a page-turner that leaves you craving the next in the series. I remember one of my elementary school teachers reading her book Running Out of Time out loud to my class and loving it so much I begged my mom to go to the bookstore to buy it so I could read it again. Morales and her daughter, Natalie. Now I just have to patiently wait for the next book in this action packed original series.

Next

Greystone Secrets #1: The Strangers (Hardcover)

greystone secrets the strangers

In this absorbing new series about family and friendships, New York Times bestselling author Margaret Peterson Haddix takes readers on a thrilling adventure. Thanks for the early look, Edelweiss! That changes when reports of three kidnapped children reach the Greystone kids, and they're shocked by the startling similarities between themselves and these complete strangers. Telling the tale from the perspectives of all 3 abandoned siblings provides a thorough look at every event as it occurs and allows for complete character profiles of out-going 2nd grader Finn, analytical Math genius Emma, and protective older brother Chess. Perfect for fans of A Wrinkle in Time and The City of Ember! It's a solid clean read, though, so keep it on your shelves for patrons who want books without violence or language. I think this book would be a good middle grade for those just entering a more middle grade reading transition. It made many chapters 2 pages long, making it a total of 61 chapters.

Next

The Deceivers (Greystone Secrets, #2) by Margaret Peterson Haddix

greystone secrets the strangers

Their mom left behind only cryptic clues to her whereabouts, and it's going to take smarts and courage to find her. The Greystone kids then go to live with a woman who used to be friends with their mom, and who has a daughter of her own, Natalie. This is the story of three siblings who are separated from their mother after she mysteriously vanishes and they are left to hunt for answers. Author Margaret Peterson Haddix sets up a captivating series of puzzles regarding their mother's whereabouts, and the solutions are riveting and smart. As science fiction, I'm left scratching my head as to how some of the alternate dimension stuff works.

Next

Book Review

greystone secrets the strangers

As they dig around the house for clues, they soon discover a coded message from their mom that leads them to a hidden room in their basement. I want to start this by saying, I dont normally read middle grade books, but the plot of this sounded interesting and It was available to me immediately at the library to reserve before it was published. Content note: no profanity, sexual content, or blood and gore. Let me tell you, it did not disappoint. Chess, Emma, and Finn come home from school to find their mother staring at her laptop, where there is a news recording of three children in Arizona who have been kidnapped.

Next