Evvie drake starts over. Evvie Drake Starts Over by Linda Holmes ยท OverDrive (Rakuten OverDrive): eBooks, audiobooks and videos for libraries

'Evvie Drake Starts Over,' by Linda Holmes book review

evvie drake starts over

On her own, Evvie had a breakdown after dropping everything in her kitchen. So I think both of them are people who have to kind of find a new path, very unexpectedly. Linda Holmes's moving, smartly written debut is so engaging, you'll be tempted to wish Evvie could start over yet again, just for a sequel. Believable, flawed characters are at the heart of this novel. Maybe readers who can look past the unimaginative writing style will be able to appreciate this more than I did. Something made me keep listening.

Next

Guest Review: Squee Evvie Drake Starts Over by Linda Holmes

evvie drake starts over

Everyone in town, even her best friend, Andy, thinks grief keeps her locked inside, and Evvie doesn't correct them. After a bad breakup, Tiffy Moore needs a place to live. But when her estranged and ailing mother asks her to uproot her life and move to Boston, it's an emergency of a kind Cassie never anticipated. Or who she thinks they want to be. He argued with Evvie and then moved out at the end of the summer.

Next

Evvie Drake Starts Over : NPR

evvie drake starts over

They're multidimensional and complex in very realistic ways. Their conversations were worded in such a way that they offered little clarity for example Evvie recounts some an event for two pages in a way that made little sense. Evvie finds Dean one night pitching pine cones against her fence. Thanks to their mutual friend Andy, Evvie finds some much needed extra income and a tenant for the rental addition on the back of her house and Dean finds a place to get away from the hounding press. When Angelique dies of a drug overdose, Caroline takes custody of the kids and flees back to her hometown.

Next

Evvie Drake Starts Over by Linda Holmes: 9780525619246

evvie drake starts over

Linda Holmes writes an incredibly captivating book about. Sharing in this read with her meant a lot. Halfway across the country, the plane crashes. It's Dean Tenney, a former major league pitcher who can no longer throw the ball over the plate. Her husband was a beloved physician in their small Maine town, and she is rarely in If you're looking for a book to charm you completely and worm its way into your heart, you don't have to look any further than Linda Holmes' debut novel, Evvie Drake Starts Over. Then he kissed her on the forehead. Have you ever found it difficult to voice an ugly truth? She discovers a life filled with culture, sophistication, and - with a little encouragement from her friends - a few blind dates.

Next

Evvie Drake Starts Over : NPR

evvie drake starts over

Women who have been in unhappy marriages will relate to Evvie. Lol and that we both loved it so very much! Her identical twin sister, Amy, on the other hand, is probably the luckiest person in the world. But she has fabulous friends and her signature hot pink fur coat. I check out of conversations involving sports within seconds and go to that happy place in my head where I'm on the beach watching dolphins frolic while being served daiquiris by a Hemsworth. But, it wasn't too bad I just have a very low sports-talk tolerance.

Next

Evvie Drake Starts Over : NPR

evvie drake starts over

The following version of this book was used to create this study guide: Holmes, Linda. As far as everyone in her small town knows, Evvie Drake is a grieving widow. I enjoyed these characters, flaws and all, and I found their backstories just as fascinating as the road that Holmes unfurled for them throughout the book. Holmes does a good job bringing the setting into the story. Evvie and Dean grabbed my heart and ran with it and it's about time! When the father Nina never knew existed suddenly dies, leaving behind innumerable sisters, brothers, nieces, and nephews, Nina is horrified. But yeah this story was great: relatable main character, hilarious best friend side character, a cute romance that involves a Major League Baseball player. We use this information to create a better experience for all users.

Next

'Evvie Drake Starts Over,' by Linda Holmes book review

evvie drake starts over

Boy, did I thoroughly enjoy this one! Finished in one day I saw this book on a morning tv show for summer read recommendations. The story of two fractured people trying to become whole is the heart of ' new novel, Evvie Drake Starts Over. When you exceed it, you get suspicious, or you get threatened, or you get this flicker of accidental intimacy, like you've peeked at the person naked through a shower door. Fans of grounded romance will fall hard for Evvie Drake and Dean Tenney, two broken people who help each other mend. This information helps us design a better experience for all users. The book is well-written, the characters are complex, and there is a lot of complicated emotions going on. And what a sweet, sexy romance it is.

Next

Evvie Drake Starts Over Summary & Study Guide

evvie drake starts over

This is a book that people who have a lot more substance than I have would enjoy. This section contains 550 words approx. It's a journey of several people learning to move on after bad things happen in their lives. Her romance with Dean felt genuine and real. Uplifting and life-affirming, Evvie Drake Starts Over is a perfect choice for fans of Rainbow Rowell and Marian Keyes. Thank you to Random House for the complimentary copy. This book is about Evvie Drake, a thirtysomething woman who is recently widowed.

Next